You know, I mostly forgot what I was gonna say on this one, so I’ll keep it short.

Dostoevsky pretty much created characters who were the epitome of beta males, infirm, indecisive, capricious and overly emotional. Much of this was a reflection of his own character. He married his first wife out of pity due to her tuberculosis, his mistress in his exile was a sadistic shit-tester. Yet, when he was about to hit rock bottom, in debt, epilepsy, gambling addiction and despair he won the adoration of his much younger secretary, whom he married and who nursed his health and served as a valuable editor. How did he overcome it? From the biographies I’ve read I can’t really suss it out.

Dostoevsky wrote of cuckolded men, unstable men, paranoiac men, aimless dreamers, deluded progressives, scornful and scorned women and often all of the above. He also wrote of redemption in being Christ-like, something seen as another beta trait in current Game parlance.

In our current view there is no difference between The Underground Man and Prince Myshkin.

I would like to differ. I would like to put forth a notion. Namely that we have lost our ability for stoicism and our appreciation for quietude. We can no longer discern those who fail with nobility and those who fail shamefully. We can’t tell serenity from passivity.

There is no capacity for transcendence of circumstances and behavior, or perhaps more aptly, there is, but we’ve all become dull to nuance.

So I’m not going to give it all away. How do you think Dostoevsky overcame the betaness? I’ll lay forth my ideas in comments.

Yes, I do apologize for the half-bakedness of all this, but it’s been awhile and I’ve moved on mentally.

